Christmas 2016, at last

I don’t need to recap all of the ways that 2016 was horrible. Forget just a little – we need a lot of Christmas now.

Summoning the holiday spirit was difficult this year. Traditions somehow feel less comforting. I wondered if I should take a radical departure from my typical mix and do something completely different. In the end, I stuck to the same formula, because Christmas doesn’t need a reboot. Christmas is the reboot: God entering the world as an infant.

So business as usual, more or less, with the exception that I tried my very first actual mashup – with admittedly mixed results (but at least it’s short). The great artists that we lost this year are represented here – Bowie, Prince, Sharon Jones, Leonard Cohen. Because we’re a nation of misfits I included the Inflatable Men cover of the familiar song from the classic TV special. There are a few fun new songs, some great takes on classics, and other stuff not represented on the tracklist. So – enjoy!

 

xmas2016 copy

 

If you like this one and want more, you can still hear my mix from last year:

 

Here is a quieter, more reflective mix to soothe your soul, which I did in 2014:

 

And here’s Xmas in Space, if you like your Christmas music with beeps and boops and sound FX and recordings of alleged UFO eyewitnesses:

 

Lastly, here is a link to a folder with every mix I’ve made going back to 2007, available for download. Get busy and Merry Christmas!

 

2 Comments

Filed under music, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Christmas 2016, at last

  1. emilypbq

    🌲🍻🌞❄️🐋🎩💪🏼

    >

  2. Christy Ottaviano

    Great mix!

    Christy Ottaviano/Publisher/Christy Ottaviano Books/FB

    Henry Holt & Company ~ an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Group, 175 Fifth Avenue, NYC 10010

    On Sat, Dec 17, 2016 at 4:35 PM, Words, Pictures, Humor wrote:

    > drewdernavich posted: “I don’t need to recap all of the ways that 2016 was > horrible. Forget just a little – we need a lot of Christmas now. Summoning > the holiday spirit was difficult this year. Traditions somehow feel less > comforting. I wondered if I should take a radical de” >

Leave a Reply

