Sister Christmas

Is it ever actually going to get legitimately cold out there? It almost feels like the wrong time to be uploading this.

I’m back with another mix of Christmas music, what else? The art for this is an homage to Sister Corita Kent, the pop artist whose work had a breakout year. Corita was a nun, an active member of the Sisters of the Immaculate Heart of Mary in Los Angeles, but her work was full of wit and visual inventiveness. I’ll write more about her in my year-end list, but that’s the same kind of thing I’m thinking about when I choose Christmas music. That, and maybe what St. Etienne said here recently about how Elvis fits Christmas (although they are wrong in disliking this classic Pogues Christmas song).

Anyway, here it is. Play or download. Merry Christmas!

xmas2015

I realized as I was uploading this that it’s the 10th one I’ve done. Not the 10th year, because I did two of them in 2014, just the 10th mix. So here they are. If you click on the thumbnails you’ll be able to download each individual one.

thumb_2014bthumb_2014athumb_2013Print

 

 

 

 

PrintPrintthumb_2009thumb_2008

 

 

 

 

thumb_2007

3 Comments

Filed under music, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Sister Christmas

  1. emilypbq

    Happy 10th! Can’t wait to listen festively. I’m spending Christmas in *Phoenix*, of all backward wrong places to spend Christmas.

  2. emilypbq

    Downloaded at 12:25; appropriate!

Leave a Reply

