Complete B.S.

Who says Twitter isn’t good for anything? I met Mark Peters there a few years ago, we traded some ideas about collaborating in addition to stupid jokes, and then something cool happened: Mark wrote a book, I illustrated it, and it’s now a real thing you can buy. Bullshit: A Lexicon was just published by Three Rivers Press, a division of Penguin.

books

Mark’s a terrifically funny guy in general, having written for McSweeney’s, among others, but he is also an etymologist with a PhD in English. So you could say he knows what he’s joking about. As soon as he told me he wanted to write kind of a dictionary of all the synonyms for “bullshit,” I said yeah – that sounds like a winner to me.

It’s out just in time for the holidays, wink wink! And according to my calculations, the world is never, ever going to run out of bullshit, so it will always be relevant. And if you want to know how to work a word like codswallop into your next TED talk, then you’ll find this book incredibly useful.

wolf

Because the words are all very similar in meaning, I had to be pretty literal with the illustrations, and I tried to do the whole book without resorting to drawing actual crap. For some reason I really like this drawing I did of a piece of tripe, for the entry for tripe, naturally:

tripe_book

But I thought I’d share some of the things that didn’t make it into the book. This was me fooling around with crapspackle before settling on the one that made page 51: 

crapspackle

spackle

I couldn’t quite get this picture for all gas and gaiters right, and then when I figured out the pose that made me say “a-ha! This is perfect!” it turned out that it’s remarkably, uncomfortably similar to the cover of this book. Which, you would think that I would have seen beforehand and maybe it was sitting there at the front of my mind, but it wasn’t. These things happen sometimes, and it’s awkward.

gas n gaiters

gas

Here are some sketches that I never ended up finalizing for one reason or another:

banana oilflapdoodle
panther piss

And, here is the unbelievably innovative sketch I proposed for confetti:

confetti

It really adds to your understanding and/or appreciation of confetti, right? This idea was complete crapola – which is covered on p. 49.

1 Comment

Filed under book, Illustration

One response to “Complete B.S.

  1. emilypbq

    Yay, congratulations! Happy Thanksgiving from Palo Alto. I’m celebrating with Mark Zuckerberg’s unborn Facebaby (actually my parents and sister). On Wed, Nov 25, 2015 at 6:18 PM Words, Pictures, Humor wrote:

    > drewdernavich posted: “Who says Twitter isn’t good for anything? I met > Mark Peters there a few years ago, we traded some ideas about > collaborating in addition to stupid jokes, and then something cool > happened: Mark wrote a book, I illustrated it, and it’s now a real thing > you c”

Leave a Reply

