Surrender Music

I know: I need to add Music to the title of Words, Pictures, Humor. When I started the blog, I wasn’t envisioning posting mixtapes. But, this idea just kind of happened, and it wasn’t difficult to do.

I was fortunate enough to see the Chemical Brothers perform at Electric Zoo this year on Randall’s Island in NYC. I have always liked them, but there’s a dichotomy between their live show and their albums. Their albums are albums in the old-school way – a bunch of individual songs that sound kind of like a singles collection – while their live show is your classic DJ performance with songs gliding in and out of a continuously pounding mix. The twin identity, I assume, has enabled them to both sell recorded music and also keep their placement within the EDM world (something which is more common nowadays with David Guetta and the like than it was when the Brothers started out in the mid-90s). But when I listen to their albums I want them to sound more like the live show.

Better Surrender_back

So here’s what I did: I gathered all the tracks from Surrender, arguably their best record. I swapped out the momentum-killing album tracks for Surrender-era b-sides which are considerably more jacked up, threw in some remixes, resequenced the songs, and spliced them together (slickly, I think, for a mere wannabe DJ) into one continuous banger of a mix. It’s like Surrender, but better. And it’s now at Soundcloud.

1 Comment

Filed under music

One response to “Surrender Music

  1. Twas a most excellent show.

Leave a Reply

