In and out of context

One of the first cartoons I ever submitted to the New Yorker was this one. Apparently, they didn’t think that an unfinished waiter asking a cross-eyed Mike Ditka a stupid question was going to work. Ah, they were probably right. I remember Bob Mankoff, the carton editor, asking me to explain it and I’m pretty sure I just shrugged my shoulders and said “I don’t think I can.”

context005

Which brings us to the cartoon this week’s issue, which is here. I still had the remnants of this setup swirling around in my caffeinated brain when I thought of this idea. It would have worked if it had taken place on a desert island, as I had originally imagined, but then it might have gotten confused with that other piece of cartoon context, so it’s just the great generic outdoors.

context1

context3

As far as what it means, I’m still not sure, but I think the pictures below will explain it comprehensively. 

IMG_1993

IMG_1898

IMG_1844

IMG_1909

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Cartoons, New yorker

Leave a Reply

